The 8 Best Oils for Natural Hair

7 Oct

Question: Do I Need to Oil My Scalp?

This scenario may sound familiar: A child sitting between a mother’s knees, as the mother parts and oils the scalp in preparation for hairstyling. Many of us remember this ritual from childhood. Maybe you had that ubiquitous jar of Ultra Sheen (blue or green) sitting in your bathroom; maybe your mom used something different. That was the rule back then: to oil the scalp.

Answer:

It’s really up to you whether or not you want to oil your scalp, but Strong hair begins at the scalp. For some people, it just feels good to apply a light oil to your fingers and massage the scalp before styling the hair. But I oil my scalp everyday  with almond oil and this has been wonderful for my hair, it has grown and its so soft.

You don’t always have to buy fancy, big name hair products for your hair. Sometimes the best products are actually very simple and found in your local Foods store ” Grønhandler”. What are these simple hair products? Well they’re natural oils. I’m a natural haired woman and know first-hand that natural oils are amazing for hair. They work wonders on my hair. And I’ve been using natural oils for years to make my hair softer, shinier, and even stronger. Basically hair needs oil. So be sure to check out these 7 fabulous natural oils for natural hair.

Avocado Oil

Avocado oil is particularly great for natural hair. It’s loaded with nutrients, amino acids, essential fatty acids, as well as vitamins A, B, D, and E. And it’s excellent for moisturizing, deep conditioning, improving hair strength, strengthening hair, and boosting shine.

 Castor Oil

Castor oil thickens hair, promotes hair growth, prevents thinning, moisturizes, helps reduce split ends, helps to tame frizz, and prevents scalp infections.

 Coconut Oil

Coconut oil is great for preventing dandruff, promoting hair growth, moisturizing, strengthening hair, thickening hair, and preventing damage.

 Olive Oil (Extra Virgin Olive Oil)

 I LOVE using olive oil. And olive oil, which is also referred to as the “godmother of hair oil,” is great for moisturizing, deep conditioning, improving hair strength, eliminating dandruff, and also has powerful antioxidants that can help fight hair loss.

 Rosemary Oil

Rosemary oil is great for stimulating hair follicles for hair growth, preventing hair loss and greying, preventing dandruff, strengthening hair, and boosting shine.

 Safflower Oil

Safflower oil protects hair, nourishes hair follicles, moisturizes, and stimulates blood circulation to promote hair growth and thickness. And it is extremely beneficial for natural as well as dry chemically treated hair.

 Almond Oil

Every black girl with natural hair should Thank god for almond oil. Almond oil works great as a “sealant.” This means that it “locks-in” moisture. Sweet almond oil also nourishes hair, smoothes hair cuticles to control shedding, promotes hair growth and thickness, prevents hair loss, and boosts shine.

Sheabutter

Sheabutter  is the new black, everyone is talking about it.  But what does sheabutter do.

Shea butter, also known as karite butter, is made from the nuts of the karite tree. These trees are native to Central and Western Africa, and grow only on mature trees. Shea butter is sometimes called “women’s gold” because its harvest and production provides jobs for a huge number of African women. Shea butter is a prized natural hair treatment that especially benefits curly, dry and damaged hair.

shea butter is particularly effective on dry, coarse hair that has been stripped of moisture due to over-processing treatments like relaxing, which is common among African  women. It is often used on African hair because this type of hair tends to be drier than other types of hair.

You can buy sheabutter from 20 kr at akuawood.

 Ladies, which of these oils do you use? And which are your favorites?

15 Responses to “The 8 Best Oils for Natural Hair”

  1. Fionah October 7, 2012 at 21:23 #

    Thank u for starting up this blog,exactly what i have been longing for especially in the Scandinavia!
    Avocado, Shea and castor oils are really good oils, all my sides were almost getting bold but rubbed them with castor oil every nite and wow, my hair is grown back :)
    Another oil that I would strongly recommend is the ARGAN oil also known as the ‘Moroccan liquid gold” it works wonders, its not as cheap but u only need a small amount to oil ur whole head, and my hair has never felt better, soft, Dark and shiny :) U Can find it in the organic shops cant remember the name! Its at Copenhagen main train station og Nørreport st!

    • aafroscandica October 8, 2012 at 15:35 #

      Hey Fionah :)
      Thanks for the sweet comment. I hope that it will be a page where we can give each other advice and learn from each other. where did you purchased your avdocado oil, I would like to try it. Im saving up for Moroccan liquid gold, but Almond oil has really be the best for my hair, my hair is so soft!

  2. Ma'Bele October 8, 2012 at 16:10 #

    JOJOBA Oils is wat i use everyday on my scalps hair and body. It neva dry out and keep me´hair growth strong and my body shiny and smooth all dayy long. Coconut and Almond are really good fa damaged hair mix it together and apply on di hair everyday and night… Follow di result and be who yuh are. PEace

    • aafroscandica October 8, 2012 at 16:16 #

      I have to try Jojoba I have never heard about it before! But the coconut and Almond Olie is sooo good together!

  3. Afrogirl October 8, 2012 at 19:48 #

    Where do you buy almond oil ? Is there a special hair line which make products with the oil or do just go in a grocery store and buy it. Thanks for the tips ;)

    • aafroscandica October 8, 2012 at 20:34 #

      Hey Afrogirl! :)

      I went down to my grocery store, at my Grønhandleren, where i bought it, its from 35-45 kr., if you pass by hovedbanegården the ” grønhandler” has it there, or if you have a grønhandler near you, you should go and ask, everyone has it. Give it a try you will love love it!

      • Afrogirl October 10, 2012 at 18:44 #

        Okay, nice :)

  4. Kerry October 9, 2012 at 02:58 #

    Thanks for this Post, I have used Almond Oil for some time now, and im in love with this product! My hair is soft, all my children are using almond oil now, and I have recommended it to all my friends. I mix both coconut olive and almond oil, because this gives the best RESULT for my Hair.

  5. Janet October 9, 2012 at 11:06 #

    Hi you have a nice blog! Thanks for sharing this interesting information with us! If you keep up this great work I’ll keep on visiting your blog!I’m gonna go to my kitchen and see if i have Olive Oil, I hope it makes a difference for my Hair :)

  6. Emma October 9, 2012 at 14:16 #

    Jeg synes at det vigtigt at bruge olie om vinteren, jeg plejer dog at varme olien op først, da jeg tror at det stimulere hovedbunden, og dette kan gøre at mit hår vokser hurtigere, jeg har ikke prøvet Almond olie før, men jeg tager da forbi min købemanden og ser om han har det :).

  7. Sarah October 12, 2012 at 05:35 #

    I have never heard about almond oil, thanks for the tip, I think that I will be using almond oil, this winter and then I hope that I will see some result in the summer time

  8. Trine October 12, 2012 at 12:45 #

    Thanks Aafroscandic, I was looking for something that I could use in my hair, because it gets soo dry in the winter time, I will try and see which oil is best for my hair

  9. Mellissa April 10, 2013 at 01:40 #

    Thanks for this post!

  10. pronvideos adult stories pronvideos May 8, 2013 at 19:09 #

    Usually I do not read article on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very compelled me to try and do so!
    Your writing style has been amazed me. Thank
    you, very great post.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. » Biotin For Hair Growth - October 22, 2012

    [...] Loss: Biotin is Food for Your HairThe 8 Best Oils for Natural Hair // IE Evitar seleccion de texto document.onselectstart=function(){ if [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 986 other followers

