Hair Interview with talented senegambian singer Mary Ndiaye

15 Mar

Bio

I was born the 13th April 1987 in Stockholm, Sweden. My Senegambian mum raised me in an environment with pretty much a perfect mix of two worlds. I got to experience the European pop music scene and structured lifestyle but also got a taste of the Senegambian “heat”, colorful culture and music. I don’t remember the exact age, but I think I was around 4 or 5 years old when I first discovered Michael Jackson and Whitney Houston. Growing up with their musical influences I just knew music had to be part of my destiny and I guess that’s how this “Big Dreamer” was born.

What advice would you give someone who wants to go natural?

 Natural is beautiful but A beauty you cant be adviced or forced to understand. It took me some soul searching and getting to know my self before I truly started to love to look of wearing my hear in a fro. Once you truly see that beauty it’s like a wait has been lifted of your shoulders and you just understand that you are beautiful the way you are.

Why did you make the decision to go natural? 

My hair was so damaged from chemicals so I decided to cut it all of and grow it out again. In order words, it was not that much of a choice, I had to.

When and how did you transition into natural hair?

I don’t remember exactly when. But I remember first using Afro wigs and braiding my hair instead of wearing it straight in a weave, and I guess I just started loving that African look more and more. 

 In what ways (if any) has going natural affected you?

 For me it’s not so much about going natural but more about the massage I want to spread to my fans through my look. I do love the fact that I feel natural and beautiful wearing a fro and hope that more black women can be confident and see the beauty in leaving their hair to grow naturally or braiding it wich is also a much more healthier option than using the chemicals. 

 How would you describe your hair?

My hair is pretty rough. My mum still helps me braid the sides the sides so that I don’t need to comb the entire hair every morning, but only the middle, which i usually wear in either one ore two puffs.

What is your regimen?

When ever I stress too much, eat bad and or forget my vitamins my hair starts braking, so I try to exercise, eat and drink good. When ever I feel good, my hair feels good too.

How do you retain length and moisture in your hair?

I wash my hair more often. (3 times a week), I use Bag Balm which is so good for the scalp. My whole family is hooked. You can buy it in animal shops lol. 

What mistakes have you made with your hair that you’ve learned from?

When i was younger I straightened it and short after bleached my hair which resulted in major damage of the hair. I have not put any chemicals in my hair since. 

What’s the best/most effective thing you do for your hair?

Washing it more often and cutting it. 

Who’s your biggest hairspiration?

Solange Knowles

For more  Miss Mary Ndiaye, go to www.maryndiaye.com

One Response to “Hair Interview with talented senegambian singer Mary Ndiaye”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Luna - March 17, 2013

    awesome blog. i enjoyed reading your articles

Leave a Reply

